Stepping into Professional Life

Stepping into Professional Life

·

3 min read

Stepping into Professional life was a bit intimidating at first but I immediately felt at ease in the office with the support of my colleagues. Everyone is very friendly over here and in a short period of time, I've picked up a lot of technical knowledge as well as interpersonal abilities for interacting with my teammates.

For past Six months I have been working as an SDE Trainee at RemoteState and I have learned a lot about life in corporate sector. Being a back-end developer I have worked on Node JS, TypeScript, Golang and PostgreSQL for managing database and many various technologies along the way. I initially studied how to manage databases with Postgresql and how to construct CRUD operations for backends in Node JS. I then spent time working on several assignments, including RMS (Restaurant Management System), the ToDo app, Audiophile, etc. Through these duties, I was able to understand how back-end development is carried out. We have access to a wide range of problem-solving techniques and server architectures. I was then given "Transchain," a real-world project, to work on. Transchain is a Digital 4PL inventory network arrangements supplier, administrating a strong range of coordinated operations arrangements. We have fabricated different platforms for Transchain to change supply chains from low straightforwardness, manual documentation, and low perceivability to a digitized stage which lets organizations comprehend, break down, control their inventory network and work together with every one of the partners in question.

My Role in Transchain

It has been a great experience working as a Back-end Developer and to gather a lot of knowledge:

  • Writing and putting into practise productive and efficient optimised code.

  • Analysing, creating, organising, and putting into practise innovative requirements solutions

  • Identifying areas of present program that might use improvement and making the required adjustments.

  • End-to-end testing to guarantee code is ready for production.

  • Managed project and integrations by myself.

Feature I implemented in Transchain

There are couple of things that I implemented in Transchain which were very interesting and little hard to implement. But one of the most important features I think was to create Zones and Sub-Zones for a customer on the basis of their products' demand as well as storage type in warehouse. I also implemented a function to get the path of the desired product in the warehouse for their workers as it will increase their efficiency and reduce the time of dispatching the product.

New Learnings

Currently, I have been assigned the task to learn a new programming language "Golang" and I will soon be working on a new project. The most important things I’ve observed are that you should always be prepared to learn something new every day, never be embarrassed to ask your seniors for assistance, and know how to explore the technologies you work on.